WPL 2023 Auction -Women Premier League 2023|409 Players|15countries

WPL 2023 Auction will be held on February 13, 2023.

BCCI received 1525 registrations and total 409 players from 15 countries are selected for WPL 2023 Auction.  Among 409 players  246 are Indians and 163 players

are overseas players.

At least 24 players, with 14 from overseas and 10 from India, have placed themselves at the top base price of INR 50 lakh (approximately USD 60,400), among them are well-known names such as Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry, Sophie Ecclestone, Sophie Devine, and Deandra Dottin. Additionally, all members of the victorious Indian Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup team have also signed up for the auction.

In addition to players from India, the final list encompasses cricketers from countries such as Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Zimbabwe, as well as eight players from Associate nations including the UAE, Hong Kong, Thailand, the Netherlands, and the United States.

The five teams are allocated a budget of INR 12 crore (approximately USD 1.46 million) each to construct their rosters. With each team consisting of 15 to 18 players, the maximum number of players that can be acquired at the auction, which begins at 2:30 PM IST, is 90. It should be noted that each roster is allowed to have a maximum of six international players.

These players have listed themselves at a base price of INR 50 lakh (approximately USD 60,400).


  • Harmanpreet Kaur
  • Smriti Mandhana
  • Deepti Sharma
  • Renuka Singh
  • Jemimah Rodrigues
  • Shafali Verma
  • Pooja Vastrakar
  • Richa Ghosh
  • Sneh Rana
  • Meghna Singh


  • Ashleigh Gardner
  • Ellyse Perry
  • Meg Lanning
  • Alyssa Healy
  • Jess Jonassen
  • Darcie Brown


  • Sophie Ecclestone
  • Nat Sciver-Brunt
  • Danni Wyatt
  • Katherine Sciver-Brunt

New Zealand:

  • Sophie Devine

South Africa:

  • Sinalo Jafta

West Indies:

  • Deandra Dottin


  • Loryn Phiri

On January 25th, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the five successful bidders for teams in the Women’s Premier League (WPL). Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Adani Group, and Capri Global were named as the new owners. Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals acquired teams based in their respective cities of Mumbai and Delhi, while Royal Challengers Bangalore acquired a team in Bengaluru. The Adani Group was awarded a team in Ahmedabad and Capri Global received a team in Lucknow. This sale of the five franchises brought in a total of INR 4669.99 crore (approximately USD 572.78 million) for the BCCI.

Since the announcement of the new franchise owners, some of the teams have been preparing for the auction by forming their team management. Mumbai’s team management is led by former captains of England and India, Charlotte Edwards and Jhulan Goswami. Adani’s Gujarat Giants have Rachael Haynes, a former Australian batter, as their head coach, with Mithali Raj serving as the mentor. As of yet, there have been no announcements regarding coaching appointments for the teams from Bengaluru, Delhi, and Lucknow.

The first season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will take place from March 4th to 26th, with all 22 matches being held at the Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Related Post